I Stand With Filmmaker Deia Schlosberg

I know I shouldn’t. This young lady has fought the expansion of the Tar Sands in Alberta. Technically speaking, this affects the Canadian economy – but only because we’re so reliant on dirty oil when we could switch to alternatives like hemp in 5 minutes and solve all of our problems.

For reporting on the Dakota Pipeline situation, Ms. Schlosberg could face 45 years in prison – for standing up for her supposedly constitutionally protected rights. Journalists across America are being charged with crimes simply for doing their jobs – for telling the truth. This is all I have endeavoured to do with this website, so if the truth makes me a criminal, I refuse to apologize because the public and myself and Ms. Schlosberg deserve a hell of a lot better.

Inasmuch as it pains me to have to say it (I don’t want to be a conspiracy theorist), journalism is under attack. The truth is under attack. It doesn’t matter what side of this issue you’re on. What matters is the right of every citizen to have access to the truth so that they can make an informed decision at the ballot box and in protest.

I will never, ever, apologize for telling the truth as I know it. If I’m wrong, I hope I will be intellectually honest enough to admit it. But the people who are “just doing their jobs” need to use their brains and their hearts and realize what is at stake here. The president who many people put their faith in sold you out. We all deserve better. Stand for the truth.

Leave a Reply

